Phil Vincent


The AORland blof has written a review about the new Tainted album from Tragik. You can read the original Spanish version here

Since that is not a language everyone is fluent in, here a translation to English with the help from google:

It is always gratifying to discover that there is another world away from so many launches via Frontiers and other major companies. If AOR Heaven delights us with great surprises from time to time along with Escape Music now it's the turn of a small Dutch company called Rock Company

They present us with a project that is less surprising, especially because of the sound they process in some subjects. It is an album that surprises for its musical variety and for some of its compositions such as the song Not Over You (Listen) with a programmed battery that could remind the disc themes of the 80s mixed with current guitars. No less surprising is the duration of the theme, almost ten minutes with all kinds of sound effects that despite its duration for nothing becomes heavy.

Nothing has to do with the issue with which they open the album, which is all a declaration of intentions. With Welcome Back they succeed in their long playing so that the listener can begin with a great impression this album.

The same happens with other cuts of the disc that with a duration more in agreement with this type of style make their listening much more enjoyable. It is the case of Can not Take it Back that returns the disc to the path of the most current Melodic Rock. The sound approaches the Danger Danger songs played by Paul Laine, for the vocal tone of his vocalist.

As I commented before there are topics that surprise because of their structure or their presentation. It is also the case of Into the Great Unknown where keyboards in the purest Sha-Boom style are in charge of surprising the listener who finds himself with a refrain well worked but that perhaps does not help the subject to end up being brilliant.

We have Bon Jovi sounds as in the song Face of Sorrow where they offer a good quality of composition and where the sound of Keep The Faith underlies throughout the song.

The album is well structured and offers very good moments of melodic rock, it is true that it has less successful themes that may hurt your listening but well, when you find wonders such as Til I See You Again or Regrets one can take for good listening This album, without waiting for anything, I found great moments of melodic rock.

Surely they still have to travel and must decide what style they want to show in future releases as in this flirt with certain styles or sounds that mislead the listener and get confused with what you can cause the opposite effect you are looking for. You can provoke with so many changes of sounds that the one who listens to the disc goes on over and over again the songs.

An album from which one can draw several interesting topics.

The ZeroDayRox blog has written another favourable review for Phil's latest album. In thier words:

US singer, songwriter and multi-instrumentalist PHIL VINCENT is back, as happens every year, with a new solo album. But this is not just 'another solo' record. Titled "XX", indeed refers to this being his 20th solo release. 20 years in the business, 20 solo albums... so this album released today June 16 it's some kind of celebration as well.

Alongside his musical career, Vincent has been working on various projects in the last fifteen years or so including his own bands Tragik, Circular Logik and D'Ercole, and recently Cranston, the project with legend Paul Sabu.
And of course there was Legion - with guitarist Vince O'Regan - releasing 7 albums via UK label Z Records. This vast experience and friends made in the process lead that most of these musicians appear as guests on "XX".

These includes guitar solos by Paul Sabu, Vince O’Regan, Pete Cox (Tragik), William Roux, and the recently deceased David Zychek (R.I.P.), ex guitarist from cult US AOR band Airborne .
Musically you know what to expect from Phil Vincent; American Melodic Rock with a strong '80s feel.
You have very good harmony vocals on the likes of 'Headlines' or 'Ride' both with some Winger on it, there's melodic rockers with catchy rhythms ('All for Nothin', 'Hey You') and a couple of slower moments including acoustics.

After 20 years constantly composing and recording, Phil Vincent has perfected his craft as 'one man band' and it shows in "XX". Phil is singing better and better everyday building really good multi-layered harmony vocals which adds nice nuances on all songs, and the guitar work is intense, varied, delivering meaty solos as well performed by the skilled guests.
Phil Vincent is a rare case; while his songs aren't instantly memorable, you can't stop to tap your foot while listening to them.
It's all familiar stuff for Classic Melodic Rock fans, and easily recommended.

01 - Live Again
02 - Headlines
03 - No Hard Feelings
04 - All for Nothin'
05 - Who Are You?
06 - (This Is) Your Let Down
07 - Sole Survivor
08 - Ride
09 - Hey You
10 - Slipping Away
11 - How Many Times?

Phil Vincent - Vocals, All instruments
Paul Sabu - guitar solo
David Zychek - guitar solo
Vince O’Regan - guitar solo
Pete Cox - guitar solo
William Roux - guitar solo