Phil Vincent

The man did it again: Phil Vincent, apart from his solo albums and other bands, is releasing a new album with LEGION entitled "Tempest", the band's sixth in the last four years!
And the best part of it is that the quality of the material on offer seems to not decrease.

Of course, the secret with Legion is their Ace in the hole: the extremely talented partner British guitarist Vince O’Regan (Bob Catley, Escape UK). Despite being fronted by the seemingly boundless energy of Phil Vincent, Legion truly showcases the songwriting skills and massive six-string chops of O'Regan.
Musically "Tempest" is somehow a return to the sound of the two fisrt albums from the band: bouncing Hard 'n Heavy / Melodic Hard Rock with beefed up riffs and edgy melodies.

Whilst everything Vincent has been involved with has had definite Dokken influences in there, Legion have even more and it's also the more varied project of his career.
The thick George Lynch-like riffs and arrangements from O'Regan are definitely more 'Tooth And Nail' than 'In My Dreams' as heard in the groovy "Stealing the Night Away", "Altered State" and the galloping "Crash & Burn".

However, Vincent's trademark vocal melodies are all over the choruses, giving most of the songs more melodic parts than the heavier verses. Check the melodic hard rock opener "Just Can't Stop", the keyboard filled "Walking in Your Footsteps", the Lynch's Mob like "My Sacrifice" or the highly harmonic hymn "(We Are) Legion".
That's not to say there isn't any variation, There's killer melodies on "Open Fire" (somehow bringing '80s Paul Sabu to mind), "More Than Meets the Eye" (akin Winger), and awesome clean electric guitars on the midtempo "Altered State".

LEGION (Phil Vincent) - Tempest (2014) insideAnother very good and really recommended effort by Legion, "Tempest" draw heavily from the classic Dokken catalog and come out all guns a blazin', but also delivers lethal doses of solid and enjoyable Melodic Hard Rock.
The band sounds better than ever (now with ex- Persian Risk Steve Hopgood returning on drums) delivering well structured songs and melodies that keep on playing in your mind.
A very strong sixth album from a band that really needs the right attention.
Very Recommended.

01. Just Can't Stop
02. Open Fire
03. Stealing the Night Away
04. More Than Meets the Eye
05. Altered State
06. Walking in Your Footsteps
07. Do or Die
08. Piece of My Heart
09. My Sacrifice
10. Crash & Burn
11. (We Are) Legion

Phil Vincent - vocals (D'ercole, Tragik)
Vince O'Regan - guitar (Bob Catley)
Gavin Cooper - bass (Lionsheart, Dianno)
Steve Hopgood - drums (Jagged Edge, Persian Risk)
Irvin Parrat - keyboards (Escape UK)


From the Music Buy Mail:


Tragik – Hunger

2014, Tragik is Phil Vincent - all Vocals, Guitars, Bass & Keyboards, Dirk Phillips- Drums, Damian D'Ercole- Guitars. This is the fourth release by Tragik and their most adventurous yet. From the opening drum beat of Giving Up to the prog rock masterpiece Eye in the Sky to the Foreigner meets Journey meets Boston meets Beatles Til the End of Time, "Hunger" will feed your melodic senses with huge choruses, heavy guitars, massive bass & drums and tasteful syth and keyboard textures. Just like the mighty bands Styx, Kansas, Journey and Foreigner, Tragik meld a mighty mix of hooks and fist pounding rock. If you like your music heavy, tuneful and intelligent then Tragik "Hunger" should not be missed.


phil vincent - slave to sinAmerican multi-instrumentalist, vocalist and composer PHIL VINCENT is a workaholic. Where recent years has seen him joining several bands (Tragik, Circular Logik, D'Ercole and Legion) and singing on other people projects, somehow he still got some time left to continue with his solo career started in the nineties.
"Slave To Sin" is Phil's new 2014 record and 'solo' is the key word here, although there's some friends collaborating.

Phil Vincent is truly a one man band, and truth to be said, he is pretty good on all instruments. His proficiency makes it possible for him to write, arrange, perform, produce and mix all of his own music.
And the good part of if is that Phil writes very, very good melodic hard rock songs.
Primarily, Vincent is a prolific songwriter, and this was his sole intention when released his first album almost twenty years ago: work as 'songwriter artist', but circumstances changed when received such a positive response from his own performance.

Phil Vincent does it all. He writes the songs, he sings the songs, he plays all of the instruments and produce on his CD's, with a little help from his friends. This dangerously could become 'more of the same' in all his projects, but Vincent is a skilled (and clever) composer managing to craft impactful rockers and good, varied melodies.
"Slave To Sin", as on most of his solo recordings, features some explorations not possible in his other bands, yet always Melodic Hard Rock focused.
So, we find here modern hard rockers with an edge in "Rise", the jumpin' title track "Slave To Sin", and the surprising ballad "Illusion" with acoustic guitars, pianos, and a very, very long atmospheric coda.

PHIL VINCENT - Slave To Sin (2014) photo

"Harmonic Destruction" is the longest Vincent track ever clocking 13+ minutes of epicness, grooving passages, and a middle section that in fact is another 'inside song' driven by a razor riff.
And of course there's Vincent's classic '80s inspired tunes in the commercial "Take Me Back" with a chorus plenty of harmony vocals, the Dokken-esque (and very good) "Mystery", the melodic hard rocker "Bad Girl" and the gentle mid-tempo "Let Me Be the One" recalling Cheap Trick.

Phil Vincent rarely disappoints, and "Slave To Sin" is another solid release from his inexhaustible musical factory.
The man knows his craft, and he's singing better and better everyday building really good multi-layered harmony vocals on all songs, intense guitar riffs and bouncy, rightly played drums.
One minor criticism: the artwork of his solo albums (also done by himself) are becoming almost laughable... It's time to hire a designer Phil, because the quality of your MHR music largely deserves a distinguished packaging.
Quite Recommended.

01 - Slave To Sin
02 - Take Me Back
03 - Mystery
04 - Rise
05 - Illusion
06 - Bad Girl
07 - Let Me Be the One
08 - Harmonic Destruction (physical CD only)

Phil Vincent: Vocals, Guitar, Bass, Keyboards, Drums
Vince O'Regan: Lead Guitar


from zero day blog