Review for Tragik – Hunger

tragik - hungerThe album is hardly out, but there is a review online of the new Tragik epic. This is from Zero Day Rock:


If there is a workaholic man in music business, Phil Vincent takes the prize. Whether solo, with Legion, D’Ercole, or in this case, TRAGIK, the albums keep coming like there is no tomorrow.
"Hunger" is the fourth release by Tragik, perhaps Phil’s most melodic rock band / project where he lends to a more personal material, even in an earnest manner than on the solo albums under his own name.

Vincent is a prolific songwriter, but when you expand your arms like an octopus on too many projects at the same time, it puts you on risk to repeat yourself. Well, Mr. Phil Vincent is a clever musician, as he is absolutely focused separating the wheat from the chaff.
First of all, the man maintains a stable line up for every project. Tragik consists of Phil Vincent on vocals, bass, keyboards and occasional guitar, Damian D´Ercole on guitars and Dirk Phillips on drums, the same crew since the band born. Of course Damian D´Ercole is also bandmate in the group of the same name, but Phil is some kind of side member there, not the main director.
So Tragik works, rehearsal and record with its own identity, commanded by Vincent’s more classic inspired songwriting, quite far from Legion’s heavy Dokken-esque side.

When I talk about classic inspiration, I mean Foreigner, Boston, some Styx, Kansas, and even The Beatles. It is definitely melodic rock oriented as always, but the arrangements are more adventurous, the keyboards play a larger role and the guitars riffs are smoother.
Tracks like "Don’t Say a Word", the great "Look At Yourself" (a highlight), "I Will Remember" (Foreigner comes to mind) or "No Tomorrow" are high quality enthusiastic ’80s melodic rockers, full or catchy rhythms and harmonies. This is really, really good stuff.

But all these are interspersed by different, and varied material.
"Eye In The Sky" ranks amongst the best Vincent compositions ever, and also should be his more longest tack ever reaching the twelve minute mark. Don’t be afraid, this is a fantastic song. It starts with a clean guitar in a midtempo pace and some eighties Kansas feel, D´Ercole soon unleashes a superb solo (I mean excellent), then the tempo raises with lots of keys and sharp guitars into a melodic rock heaven. Vincent shows his notable improvements in the vocal department with mature inflections and great control. At the middle section, synth injections gives to the song a catchy commercial aura, and for the end the track goes mid-paced again, blending bluesy guitars and vintage keys into a Beatles / Cheap Trick melody.
The aforementioned mix of styles may look weird on paper, but trust me, it’s a terrific composition. Vincent has surprised me like never before, and in the better way possible.
The variation is shown as well on "This Is How It Has to Be" where the melodic rock is still present yet here with a seventies hard rock spice (but modern sounding) featuring a muscular bluesy solo, and "Til the End of Time" is an acoustic, simply but wonderfully delivered tune akin Elefante’s work with Mastedon.

"Hunger" is not only the best Tragik album so far, it’s the best Phil Vincent recording ever, and one of the most compelling indie Melodic Rock releases of the year.
Vincent has been working hard lately to improve one important flaw present on all his bands / projects: the uneven production (Phil is at charge always). Well, "Hunger" is the triumphant effort. Where the drums used to sound flat and mechanical, now all come crisp & clear, while the abundant keyboards and sharp balanced guitars in the mix perfectly blend with the, as said, controlled and fluid vocals.
The only fault on "Hunger" is the horrible, cheap cover artwork that not reflects the high quality material on offer inside, but you know, what matters is the music, and you will be amazed by this impressive, solid Vincent & Co. Melodic Rock CD.
Highly Recommended.

01 – Giving Up
02 – Don’t Say A Word
03 – Look At Yourself
04 – Eye In The Sky
05 – I Will Remember
06 – For You
07 – No Tomorrow
08 – This Is How It Has To Be
09 – Til The End Of Time

Phil Vincent – All Vocals, Bass, Keyboards, add. Guitar
Damian D’Ercole – Guitars, Percussion
Dirk Phillips – Drums, Keyboards

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.